Health Indicator Report of Birth Rates
Tracking birth rate patterns among Utah and U.S. women as a whole is critical to understanding population growth and change in this country and in Utah. Birth rates directly relate to a population's need for timely and appropriate preconception, prenatal, neonatal, and postpartum care.
NotesAn age-specific birth rate is the number of births to women in a certain age group per 1,000 women in the same age group (e.g., births to adolescent mothers per 1,000 adolescent girls of the same age group in the Utah population).
- Population Estimates: National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) through a collaborative agreement with the U.S. Census Bureau, IBIS Version 2020
- Utah Birth Certificate Database, Office of Vital Records and Statistics, Utah Department of Health
DefinitionNumber of live births per 1,000 population.
NumeratorNumber of live births.
DenominatorNumber of persons in population.
How Are We Doing?In 2020, there were 45,724 live births to Utah residents, a rate of 14.1 per 1,000 Utahns. This is a small decrease from the 2019 birth rate of 14.6, and ultimately, the lowest birth rate in a decade.
How Do We Compare With the U.S.?Utah continued to report a higher birth rate than the U.S., with 14.1 live births per 1,000 total population in 2020. The provisional U.S. birth rate in 2020 was 10.9 per 1,000 population, a decrease from the 2019 rate of 11.4.
What Is Being Done?Having an overall high birth rate is not a risk factor for poor health outcomes. However, elevated teen pregnancy rates are a concern as these pregnancies are considered to be at higher risk. The U.S. final birth rate for teenagers in 2020 was 15.4 births per 1,000 females aged 15-19, down 8% from 2019 (16.7), reaching another record low for this age group. The Utah teen birth rate for those 15 through 19 years also decreased to a rate of 10.7 in 2020. A variety of educational and prevention activities are targeted to decrease teen birth rates.
Available ServicesAccess to family planning services are available in Utah from several sources: community health centers, Planned Parenthood Association of Utah, Family Planning Elevated, and private providers. Utah law requires parental consent for unmarried minors to obtain contraception information and services from community health centers and clinics. A 2018 Utah law allows pharmacies to dispense three types of contraception - pills, patch, or ring - through a statewide standing order issued by the Utah Department of Health. People 18 years and older can go to any participating pharmacy to receive their pills, patch, or ring directly from the pharmacist. For more information and to see a list of participating pharmacies see [https://mihp.utah.gov/birthcontrol]. Preconception and interpregnancy health information is available from the Utah Department of Health. [http://www.poweryourlife.org/] Follow Power Your Life on:[[br]] Facebook: [https://www.facebook.com/poweryourlifeut][[br]] Instagram: [https://www.instagram.com/poweryourlifeut/]
Page Content Updated On 10/21/2021, Published on 11/04/2021